Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Lewis Hamilton Leads championship by 53 points

Lewis Hamilton leads the 2015 F1 drivers championship by 53 points

After his win at Monza in the Italian Grand Prix, Lewis Hamilton has 252 points vis-a-vis 199 points of his nearest competitor Nico Rosberg.

Rosberg was running in third position in the race at Monza when his car went up in flames.

Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari is at 178 points following his second place finish in the Italian Grand Prix. The way the Ferrari has upped its pace, especially its pace over one lap Vettel may overtake Nico Rosberg in a few races. Kimi Raikkonen seems to have upped his pace as can be seen in his P2 in the Qualifying at Italian Grand Prix. So if both the Ferrari cars qualify infront of Rosberg's car, then it is sure that Nico Rosberg will soon move down from his second position in the drivers championship.

Felipe Massa of Williams is currently fourth in the drivers championship with 97 points. Kimi Raikkonen of Ferrari is at 92 points and fifth in the race.

Nico Hulkenberg of Force India has won the Le Mans endurance race and has made a name for himself. He was supposed to be considered by Ferrari as well. However, now his teammate Sergio Perez has moved ahead of him with 33 points to be in the 10th spot vs 30 points and 11th spot for Hulkenberg.

With Renault considering taking over the Lotus team and bring in considerable financial muscle, Sergio Perez may have a chance to go there as well.

Drivers standings after Italian Grand Prix 2015

Sl.        Name                          Team              Points
1.   Lewis Hamilton                Mercedes       252
2.   Nico Rosberg                    Mercedes       199
3.   Sebastian Vettel              Ferrari            178
4.   Felipe Massa                    Williams         97
5.   Kimi Raikkonen               Ferrari            92
6.   Valtteri Bottas                  Williams         91
7.   Daniil Kvyat                     Red Bull          58
8.   Daniel Ricciardo              Red Bull          55
9.   Romain Grosjean             Lotus               38
10. Sergio Perez                    Force India     33
11. Nico Hulkenberg             Force India     30
12. Max Verstappen             Toro Rosso     26
13. Felipe Nasr                      Sauber           16
14. Pastor Maldonado          Lotus               12
15. Fernando Alonso             McLaren         11
16. Carlos Sainz                     Toro Rosso     9
17. Marcus Ericsson              Sauber           9
18. Jenson Button                 McLaren         6
19. Roberto Merhi                 Marussia        0

20. Will Stevens                     Marussia        0

No comments: