Saturday, October 31, 2015

Rosberg grabs pole in Inaugural Mexican Grand Prix

Rosberg grabs pole in Inaugural Mexican Grand Prix

It was an competitive qualifying in the first ever Mexican F1 Grand Prix as the cars were all very close to each other in pace.

Nico Rosberg of Mercedes set a time of 1m 19.480 seconds. He beat his teammate Lewis Hamilton to second place by 0.188 seconds. Lewis Hamilton was the first one to set a time below 1m 20 seconds but when it mattered most in the Q3, he locked up in his qualifying run and was slower than Rosberg. Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari qualified in third.

Daniil Kvyat of Red Bull qualified in P4 with a time of 1m 20.398. Interestingly his teammate Daniel Ricciardo set a time of 1m 20.399 seconds for P5 which was o.oo1 seconds slower.

Valtteri Bottas of Williams was P6 with time of 1m 20.448 and he was followed by Felipe Massa who scored a time of 1m 20. 567 seconds for P7.

Max Verstappen of Toro Rosso was P8 with a time of 1m 20.710. Sergio Perez of Mexico brought in cheer for the home crowd as he qualified in 1m 20.716 seconds for P9. His teammate Nico Hulkenberg of Force India was P10.

The F1 qualifying has three parts. The Q1 is of 18 minutes duration and 5 slowest cars are excluded from the second part of qualifying. So in the Q2 15 cars participate and in Q1 the top 10 cars participate.

Jenson Button couldn’t participate in the qualifying as McLaren couldn’t solve his engine signal problem. He will race at the discretion of the stewards.

Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso have been slapped 30 and 15 place penalties for engine changes. To the spectators it may sound comic as there are only a total of 20 cars in the grid and the combined penalties for engine and gearbox change etc quickly adds up to more than the number of cars.

In the Q1, the following drivers were eliminated:
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Nasr
Alexander Rossi
Will Stevens
Jenson Button

Romain Grosjean of Lotus could just scrape through to the Q2. His luck however deserted him in Q2 and he couldn’t qualify to the Q1 Top Ten shootout. Kimi Raikkonen was eliminated in the Q2 as he experienced brake problems. He had a spin as well. Raikkonen finished in 15th spot and was down by nearly a second to the 14th placed Marcus Ericsson of Sauber. It would be painful for him because his teammate Sebastian Vettel was around 2.4 seconds faster than him. In the Q2 the following drivers were eliminated:
11. Carlos Sainz
12. Romain Grosjean
13. Pastor Maldonado
14. Marcus Ericsson
15. Kimi Raikkonen

Carlos Sainz was eliminated by just 0.007 seconds as Nico Hulkenberg of Force India beat him for the 10th spot in Q2.

Qualifying results of Mexican F1 Grand Prix

Sunday, October 11, 2015

Hamilton wins in Russia for second time

Lewis Hamilton wins in Russia F1 Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes won in Russia for the second year running while his teammate Nico Rosberg retired.

It was an exciting race at Sochi with accident and deployment of safety car in the first lap. Nico Hulkenberg of Force India and Marcus Ericsson of Sauber collided in turn 2 in the first lap. Romain Grosjean of Lotus and Max Verstappen of Toro Rosso were also in the pits. The safety car period was over in lap 4 and racing restarted with Nico Rosberg in the lead. However his lead lasted till lap 7 when his teammate Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes overtook him. Nico Rosberg had problems with his car and crawled back to pits to retire from the race. Mercedes confirmed that the throttle damper of Nico Rosberg’s car had failed.

Lewis Hamilton made no mistake and won the race for his 42nd victory. Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari finished in second position. Sergio Perez of Force India was third.

It was a very brave as well as fortunate drive by Sergio Perez to stick to one stop strategy. In the last lap Valtteri Bottas tried to overtake Sergio Perez and Kimi Raikkonen who was battling Bottas, also tried to sneak in. As a result there was contact and Bottas stopped. Sergio Perez regained his third position. Kimi Raikkonen limps home to fifth as Felipe Massa of Williams overtook Raikkonen to take the 4th spot. The collision between Kimi Raikkonen and Valtteri Bottas is being investigated and if replays prove to be conclusive the Kimi may be penalised.

After the first lap Safety car, it was again deployed in lap 12 when Romain Grosjean hit the walls hard causing another safety car period.

Danill Kvyat of Red Bull finished in sixth. He was followed by Felipe Nasr of Sauber in seventh. Pastor Maldonado of Lotus was 8th and former world champion Jenson Button of McLaren finished in 9th. Fernando Alonso who had no hopes of finishing in points grabbed the last points paying position and finished in 10th due to Valtteri Bottas retiring in the last lap.

Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull who was running in 4th position retired in lap 48. Carlos Sainz retired in Lap 49.

Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari had the fastest lap of the race. Though that doesn't get you any more points, however, drivers try to get that statistic.

Results of Russian F1 Grand Prix 2015

EDIT: Raikkonen penalised

Kimi Raikkonen was penalised for the incident with Valtteri Bottas. Raikkonen was handed down a 30 seconds penalty and hence he dropped down from 5th to 8th. So Kvyat became 5th, Felipe Nasr became 6th and Pastor Maldonado 7th.

Fernando Alonso was also handed a penalty for not respecting the track limits and hence he dropped down to 11th. Max Verstappen of Toro Rosso is now classified as 10th.

Reclassified Russian F1 Grand Prix Results

Sl.        Driver                         Team
1.         Lewis Hamilton          Mercedes
2.         Sebastian Vettel        Ferrari
3.         Sergio Perez               Force India
4.         Felipe Massa              Williams
5.         Daniil Kvyat               Red Bull
6.         Felipe Nasr                 Sauber
7.         Pastor Maldonado     Lotus
8.         Kimi Raikkonen         Ferrari
9.         Jenson Button            McLaren
10.       Max Verstappen        Toro Rosso
11.       Fernando Alonso       McLaren
12.       Valtteri Bottas            Williams
13.       Roberto Merhi           Marussia

14.       Will Stevens               Marussia

Saturday, October 10, 2015

Rosberg on Pole in Russian F1 Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg on Pole in Russian F1 Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg of Mercedes led in all the three sections and won the pole position in the Russian F1 Grand Prix qualifying at Sochi. World Champion Lewis Hamilton qualified in second with 0.320 seconds separating the two.

Valtteri Bottas of Williams qualified in third position for tomorrow's race.

It was a wet friday practice and teams tried to fit in their programs for the single practice on saturday. However, Carlos Sainz of Toro Rosso had a heavy accident and couldn't take part in the qualifying later in the day.

Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari qualified ahead of his teammate Kimi Raikkonen to qualify in P4 and P5 respectively.

They were followed by Force India cars of Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez on P6 and P7 respectively.

Romain Grosjean of Lotus who will drive next year for the new Haas team qualified in P8. Verstappen of Toro Rosso was 9th and Daniel Ricciardo of REd Bull who didn't set a time will start on 10th in tomorrow's race.