Sunday, March 24, 2013

Vettel wins Malaysian Grand Prix 2013

Vettel wins Malaysian Grand Prix 2013

Vettel started from the Pole but was soon overtaken by his teammate Mark Webber. However, after the third pitstop, Vettel again took the lead and won the race. Mark Webber finished second followed by Lewis Hamilton in third.

There was a bit of drama, as Fernando Alonso overtook Massa in the opening lap and was at second position. However, he slightly touched behind the back of Vettel and broke his nose. He dragged on the front wing for a fair distance before it broke and went below his car’s body, pushing him into the gravel.

Jenson Button was at the front for sometime before a bad pitstop ruined his race. He started from the pitstop and stopped and was pushed back by the mechanics as he had one of the wheel nuts loose. He never recovered from that disaster and retired on lap 53.

Kimi Raikkonen had a quiet race. He didn’t have a good start and then later on while his team mate over took him. Finally he finished the race at seventh position.

Hamilton and Rosberg raced with each other. Nico Rosberg was heard complaining in his radio that he was faster than Hamilton and should be allowed to go ahead to which Mercedes team principal Ross Brawn was heard saying “Negative”. When Nico Rosberg grumbled, came a hard reply again from Ross Brawn “Negative Nico”.

When Rosberg still complained, Ross Brawn said “ Please drop back, there’s a massive gap behind and nothing to gain in front. I want to bring these cars home”.

There was lot of drama with the Red Bull team mates. At the post race interview, Mark Webber said that after the final pit stop he was told that the race is over. So he switched off. He added "Seb took his own decision and we know he will get protection".

Teams calculate the total amount of fuel to be filled in based on simulations of various variables including the less amount of fuel burned when it rains or when the cars are moving slowly under Safety Car situations. So when there is no safety car situation if the lead cars race with each other and burn their fuel, then at the end of the race due to lower weight of the cars than the stipulated weight, then cars are going to be penalised. So even when Sebastian Vettel jumps over Mark Webber, due to the fuel situation, Webber can't race.

Final Results of Malaysian Grand Prix 2013

1. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2. Mark Webber Red Bull
3. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
4. Nico Rosberg Mercedes
5. Felipe Massa Ferrari
6. Romain Grosjean Lotus
7. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus
8. Nico Hulkenberg Sauber
9. Sergio Perez McLaren
10. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
11. Valeri Bottas Williams
12. Gutierrez Sauber
13. Jules Bianchi Marussia
14. Charles Pic Caterham
15. Van der Garde Caterham
16. Max Chilton Marussia

Retirements in Malaysian Grand Prix 2013

Jenson Button McLaren lap 53
Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso lap 51
Pastor Maldonado Williams lap 45
Adrian Sutil Force India lap 27
Paul di-Resta Force India lap 22
Fernando Alonso Ferrari lap 1

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Narain Karthikeyan in 2013

Narain Karthikeyan in 2013

Narain Karthikeyan who was racing for HRT in 2012 is not in the F1 grid in 2013 as HRT became bankrupt. Narain Karthikeyan was then in talks with Force India, however, Force India just wanted Narain Karthikeyan's money and wanted him to be the test driver which he refused. Vijay Mallya of Force India is never interested in sharing the limelight with another Indian. So he has never given Narain Karthikeyan even a test drive, but continually berates him as a bad driver. Same case with Karun Chandhok.

Narain Karthikeyan now has decided to race in the Auto GP world series. The first race of this series is in Monza, Italy on this saturday. Narain said "I have decided to accept the invitation of Michael Zele (team owner), as it keeps me driving a high powered single seater. " Narain further added ,"I have worked with Zele racing before, and known Michael for a long time. I am looking forward to the first race, as I know this track very well."

The cars in this are similar and are powered by Zytek engines with Lola providing the chassis. Wish Narain all the best!

Sunday, March 17, 2013

Raikkonen wins Australian Grand Prix 2013

Raikkonen wins Australian Grand Prix

Raikkonen wins first race of 2013. in a topsy turvy race, where fortunes constantly fluctuated with changing weather conditions.

There were many drivers who led the race from time to time, however, it was Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus who go the first race win of the year under his belt with a two stop strategy. The Redbulls at the end didn't have the race pace to win despite showing impressive pace in the F1 Australian Grand Prix qualifying.

There were four retirements in the race. Rosberg who had led the race for sometime was one of them when his car failed in 26 laps. Maldonado of Williams too retired in lap no. 24. Ricciardo of Toro Rosso retired in lap 40. Nico Hulkenberg, the new Sauber recruit failed to start the race due to a fuel pump problem. He must be feeling bad as his replacement in Force India, Adrian Sutil led the race for sometime when other cars had pitted.

The Final standings in Australian Grand Prix are as follows:

1. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus
2. Fernando Alonso Ferrari
3. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
4. Felipe Masa Ferrari
5. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
6. Mark Webber Red Bull
7. Adrian Sutil Force India
8. Paul di Resta Force India
9. Jenson Button McLaren
10. Romain Grosjean Lotus
11. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
12. Sergio Perez McLaren
13. Gutierrez Sauber
14. Valeri Bottas Williams
15. Bianchi Marussia
16. Charles Pic Caterham
17. Max Chilton Marussia
18. van der Garde Caterham

Retirements in Australian Grand Prix

Daniel Ricciardo
Nico Rosberg
Pastor Maldonado
Nico Hulkenberg