Saturday, November 2, 2013

Mark Webber on Pole in Abu Dhabi

Mark Webber scores Pole in Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Mark Webber of Red Bull in his last race at Abu Dhabi F1 Grand Prix became only the third person to score a pole position apart from Vettel and Hamilton, when Hamilton spun in the final sector and brought yellow flags. That was his 13th pole position in F1 races.

Mark Webber’s team mate Sebastian Vettel who has already been coronated as the 2013 F1 champion in the Indian Grand Prix settled for 2nd postion.

Nico Rosberg of Mercedes came ahead of his team mate Lewis Hamilton in P3. Hamilton would be surprised at his rare spin and had to be content with his P4 position.

Kimi Raikkonen, who had considered withdrawing from the Abu Dhabi race due to payment dispute with Lotus raced to a P5. He was followed by Nico Hulkenberg of Sauber in P6.

Romain Grosjean of Lotus qualified in P7 followed by Felipe Massa of Ferrari in P8. Interestingly, Massa’s teammate Fernando Alonso of Ferrari couldn’t even qualify in the top ten. Alonso settled at P11.

Sergio Perez of McLaren qualified in P9 whereas his more experienced teammate former world champion Jenson Button could only qualify at P13.

Daniel Ricciardo of Toro Rosso qualified in P10. Daniel will drive instead of Mark Webber in the Red Bull car next year. Daniel Ricciardo’s team mate Vergne qualified in P14.

We have to wait and see if Mark Webber faces another car failure or Red Bull decides to alter his strategy to give his teammate Sebastian Vettel the upper hand as it has done this entire season.

Final Standings in Abu Dhabi 2013 F1 Qualifying

1. Mark Webber        Red Bull
2. Sebastian Vettel    Red Bull
3. Nico Rosberg          Mercedes
4. Lewis Hamilton      Mercedes
5. Kimi Raikkonen     Lotus
6. Nico Hulkenberg   Sauber
7. Romain Grosjean   Lotus
8. Felipe Massa          Ferrari
9. Sergio Perez           McLaren
10. Daniel Ricciardo  Toro Rosso
11. Fernando Alonso Ferrari
12. Paul di Resta       Force India
13. Jenson Button     McLaren
14. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
15. P. Maldonado      Williams
16. V. Bottas               Williams
17. E. Gutierrez          Sauber
18. Adrian Sutil         Force India
19. G. van der Garde Caterham
20. Jules Bianch         Marussia
21. Charles Pic           Caterham      

22. Max Chilton         Marussia

No comments: