Sunday, May 26, 2013

Nico Rosberg wins F1 Monaco Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg wins from Pole in Monaco Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg won the Monaco Formula One Grand Prix from pole position to notch his second race victory of his career. In the process he also followed in the footsteps of his father Keke Rosberg who had won Monaco Grand Prix.

Sebastian Vettel of Redbull won the second position followed by his teammate Mark Webber who came third. Hamilton of Mercedes finished fourth.

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes would be cursing Massa. It is Massa’s accident in lap 30 which necessitate a safety car. At that time only three drivers hadn’t taken their first stop – Nico Rosberg leading, Lewis Hamilton in second and Vettel in third. Vettel immediately dived in to the pits to change his tyres. Rosberg and Hamilton too did the same. However, Hamilton got delayed as the Mercedes had to attend to Rosberg and as a result Hamilton dropped from P2 to P4. After that Hamilton was close on the tail of Webber. However, he could not overtak as there was a crash in Lap 46.

In lap 46 Pastor Maldonado of Williams and Max Chilton of Marussia collided and that resulted in the barriers broken. The race was immediately red flagged and the cars had to come to stop in the race order. The mechanics cleared the shards of carbon fibre lying in the track. Under the rules, drivers are allowed to change to fresh tyres, so everybody changed their tyres. Alonso meanwhile had to give up his position to Perez as he had cut a chicane to defend himself. Chilton was handed over a drive through penalty for causing the collision. It seems he got away with a light punishment.

Lewis Hamilton tried hard to overtake Webber but couldn’t succeed due to superb defensive driving in the narrow tracks of Monaco. As a result Hamilton ruined his tyres and gave up the chase.

In lap 60 Jules Bianchi crashed and soon after in lap 63 Romain Grosjean and Daniel Ricciardo collided ruining the races of both.

It was a big result for Adrian Sutil of Force India who came in at fifth position.

It was a poor result for championship aspirant Fernando Alonso of Ferrari who finished in 7th position behind Jenson Button of McLaren at 6th.

Jean-Eric Vergne of Toro Rosso finished in 8th followed by Paul di Resta of Force India at 9th.

In lap 71 Perez was trying to overtake Raikkonen as a result Raikkonen suffered a puncture ruining his race. Raikkonnen however overtook many cars and managed to take the last point.

It was later found that Perez too suffered as a result of the indiscretion and both of them finished outside points in the 16th position.

Results of F1 Monaco Grand Prix

1. Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
3. Mark Weber Red Bull
4. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
5. Adrian Sutil Force India
6. Jenson Button McLaren
7. Fernando Alonso Ferrari
8. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
9. Paul di Resta Force India
10. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus
11. Nico Hulkenberg Sauber
12. Valeri Bottas Williams
13. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber
14. Max Chilton Marussia
15. Giedo van der garde Caterham
16. Sergio Perez McLaren

Retirements in F1 Monaco Grand Prix 2013

Romain Grosjean Lotus
Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso
Jules Bianchi Marussia
Pastor Maldonado Williams
Felipe Massa Ferrari
Charles Pic Caterham

No comments: