Saturday, November 3, 2012

Vettel's gamble fails, to start from back of the grid

Sebastian Vettel disqualified from Abu Dhabi Grand Prix qualifying

Sebastian Vettel had stopped his car on the track after qualifying without bringing it back for inspection. It was said that he stopped it due to some undisclosed problem with the fuel pump. As we had mentioned that this will invite an investigation, Sebastian Vettel was investigated and it was found that his Red bull car didn't have the mandatory 1 litre fuel. He was disqualified from the qualifying results and will start from the pitlane for the F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

A FIA statement said that "The stewards determine that this is a breach of Article 6.6.2 of the FIA Formula One Technical Regulations and the competitor is accordingly excluded from the results of the Qualifying Session. The competitor is however allowed to start the race from the back of the grid."

In another development Sergio Perez was warned for blocking Bruno Senna, however, no penalty was given.

The F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will be exciting as Sebastian Vettel will try and hope to salvage some points after starting from the back of the grid and Alonso will try to maximise this opportunity to wipe out the 13 point deficit to Sebastian Vettel in the championship race. Since Sebastian Vettel will not start at third position, Mark Webber who starts at second position will not has to let Sebastian Vettel past him. However Mark Webber will try and fight for the race lead and when Fernando Alonso will overtake the other cars and move to the front, Webber will try to hold him up as much as possible. Lewis Hamilton on the other hand, aggressive driver that he is, will try to win this race from pole. This may be one of the last few opportunities when he starts from the pole as in the next season he will be driving Mercedes, which has failed in the last three years to create a good car.

The 2012 F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will be interesting.

F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Revised Starting Grid 2012

Grid Driver Team
1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2 Mark Webber Red Bull
3 Pastor Maldonado Williams
4 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus
5 Jenson Button McLaren
6 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
7 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
8 Felipe Massa Ferrari
9 Romain Grosjean Lotus
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India
11 Sergio Perez Sauber
12 Paul di Resta Force India
13 Michael Schumacher Mercedes
14 Bruno Senna Williams
15 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber
16 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso
17 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
18 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham
19 Charles Pic Marussia
20 Vitaly Petrov Caterham
21 Timo Glock Marussia
22 Pedro de la Rosa HRT
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT
24 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull

No comments: