Sunday, November 4, 2012

Kimi wins first race for Lotus in Abu Dhabi

Kimi wins Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, first after comeback

Accidents galore in the F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2012 as Kimi Raikkonen wins for Lotus.

Pole setter Lewis Hamilton had a engine failure and had to stop. This handed over the race lead to Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus and despite some challenges and safety cars, Kimi held on to the lead for his first win of his comeback.

There were some first lap incidents. Nico Rosberg had to pit following a first lap incident. However, later Nico Rosberg ploughed into Narain Karthikeyan in a scary accident and flew over his car into the barriers. Fortunately, neither of the drivers were hurt. This incident will be investigated after the race.

Romain Grosjean who had to drop down following an incident later on again got caught in another incident triggered by Sergio Perez. This resulted in Mark Webber getting hit by Romain Grosjean there by ending Webber’s race. Sergio Perez was given a stop go penalty for this incident.

Michael Schumacher who had started the race in medium tyres had climbed upto 10th and then 8th position. However, the second safety car resulted in a left rear puncture and he had to pit again thereby ruining his race.

Sebastian Vettel who was disqualified from qualifying started in the pits. However, his team could change his gear ratio and he had a very fast car. He moved up by passing the slower cars and benefitted from the safety car triggered by Nico Rosberg. So Sebastian Vettel took advantage of the safety car and then pitted to take the soft tyres and scythed through the field. In the lap 52 Sebastian Vettel could finally overtook Jenson Button in the second DRS zone and moved into third position.

Fernando Alonso the wily competitor held off Jenson Button and Sebastian Vettel and finished second. Alonso then did fastest laps to close the gap between him and Kimi Raikkonen.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2012 Final Results:

1. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus
2. Fernando Alonso Ferrari
3. Sebastian Vettel Redbull
4. Jenson Button McLaren
5. Pastor Maldonado Williams
6. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber
7. Felipe Massa Ferrari
8. Bruno Senna Williams
9. Paul di Resta Force India
10. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso
11. Michael Schumacher Mercedes
12. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
13. Heikki Kovalainen Caterham
14. Timo Glock Marussia
15. Sergio Perez Sauber
16. Vitaly Petrov Caterham
17. Pedro de la Rosa HRT

Retirements in the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2012

Charles Pic
Romain Grosjean
Mark Webber
Lewis Hamilton
Narain Karthikeyan
Nico Rosberg
Nico Hulkenberg

1 comment:

varsha said...

Nice to read about the Grand Prix. I didnt know much about it and I feel slightly enlightened now