Saturday, November 22, 2014

Rosberg beat Hamilton to Pole in Abu Dhabi

Rosberg beat Hamilton to Pole in Abu Dhabi

Lewis Hamilton, the World Championship leader complained of vibration in his tyres in the Q3 of the Qualifying of the season ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Whereas his competitor and team-mate Nico Rosberg had no such problems and got the pole position by close to half a second quicker than Hamilton’s time. Nico Rosberg scored a 1m 40.480 seconds time vis-à-vis 1m40. 866 by Lewis Hamilton. It was a tense situation, as Rosberg has to win tomorrow’s race to have any chance of winning the championship, which till now is being led by Lewis Hamilton.

Behind the Mercedes pair of Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton came the Williams pair of Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa. During practice Bottas was appearing strong. Nico Rosberg hopes that Bottas can beat Lewis Hamilton tomorrow, so that Rosberg can then win the Championship. For the Record, if Rosberg wins tomorrow’s race and Hamilton finishes in Second place, then Lewis Hamilton still finishes second. Lewis Hamilton is known to be a pure racer whereas Nico Rosberg can play dirty as was seen in Spa where he hit Hamilton from behind to ruin Hamilton’s race.

Tomorrow’s race appears to be the last race of Jenson Button. McLaren is believed to have signed up Fernando Alonso and is weighing up their options of whether to take Jenson Button or Kevin Magnussen in the other seat. At the fag end of the season, when there are no good race seats available, Jenson Button may have to quit F1. It is sad that Jenson Button cannot have a farewell race because McLaren decides to keep on the decision hanging till December 1st.

Ferrari would be happy as Kimi Raikkonen qualified ahead of Fernando Alonso who is leaving Ferrari after this race.

Final Qualifying positions in Bahrain F1 Grand Prix

01. Nico Rosberg                        Mercedes
02. Lewis Hamilton                    Mercedes
03. Valtteri Bottas                      Williams
04. Felipe Massa                        Williams
05. Daniel Ricciardo                  Red Bull
06. Sebastian Vettel                   Red Bull
07. Daniil Kvyat                        Toro Rosso
08. Jenson Button                      McLaren                    
09. Kimi Raikkonen                  Ferrari
10. Fernando Alonso                 Ferrari
11. Kevin Magnussen                McLaren
12. Jean-Eric Vergne                 Toro Rosso
13. Sergio Perez                         Force India
14. Nico Hulkenberg                 Force India
15. Adrian Sutil                         Sauber
16. Romain Grosjean                Lotus
17. Esteban Gutierrez               Sauber
18. Pastor Maldonado               Lotus
19. Kamui Kobayashi               Caterham
20. Will Stevens                       Caterham

No comments: