Sunday, August 25, 2013

Sebastian Vettel wins Belgian Grand Prix 2013

Sebastian Vettel wins Belgian Grand Prix 2013

Sebastian Vettel overtook pole sitter Lewis Hamilton in the Kemmel straight and there after comfortably maintained his lead to win the Belgian Grand Prix at spa. Fernando Alonso made a good start from his P9 starting position and came second. Pole sitter Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes finished on third position.

Rain evaded the Belgian Grand Prix and hence the results were not as interesting as yesterday’s qualifying. Predictably Sebastian Vettel comfortably maintained his lead after overtaking in the first lap.

Mark Webber didn’t have a good start and finished at 5th position. His season seems to be finishing in a whimper. Too often this year we have seen either the Red Bull messing up pit stops of Mark Webber or some problem cropping up in his car. So he must be having some relief at getting a few points in this race.

Jenson Button finished at sixth. Felipe Massa finished at 7th. Romain Grosjean finished on 8th. He must have been surprised to be pushed off the track by Sergio Perez as Grosjean in 2012 was known for his rash driving and was even banned for a race. Perez was duly handed a penalty which pushed him down and he eventually finished out of points at 11. Adrian Sutil finished at 9th. Daniel Ricciardo of Toro Rosso who is in the running to get the Red Bull seat vacated by Mark Webber next year, had a terrible qualifying yesterday. However, he managed to get the 10th place and importantly finish ahead of his team mate Jean-Eric Vergne who finished at 12th.

This race also saw Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus retiring from the race. Earlier his car was seen throwing black dust from the front brake. This ended his record breaking run of 27 straight points finishes.

Race Results in Belgian Grand Prix 2013

1. Sebastian Vettel                Red Bull
2. Fernando Alonso               Ferrari
3. Lewis Hamilton                  Mercedes
4. Nico Rosberg                      Mercedes
5. Mark Webber                    Red Bull
6. Jenson Button                    McLaren
7. Felipe Massa                      Ferrari
8. Romain Grosjean               Lotus
9. Adrian Sutil                        Force India
10. Daniel Ricciardo              Toro Rosso
11. Sergio Perez                    Mclaren
12. Jean-Eric Vergne             Toro Rosso
13. Nico Hulkenberg                         Sauber
14. Esteban Gutierrez           Sauber
15. Valteri Bottas                   Williams
16. Giedo van der Garde      Caterham
17. Pastor Maldonado          Williams
18. Jules Bianchi                    Marussia

19. Max Chilton                     Caterham

Retirements in Belgian Grand Prix

Paul di Resta                          Force India
Kimi Raikkonen                     Lotus

Charles Pic                             Marussia

No comments: