Sunday, May 12, 2013

Alonso wins home Grand Prix in Spain

Fernando Alonso wins his home Grand Prix in Spain

Fernando Alonso changed the record to win the Spanish Grand Prix even though he didn’t start either in the first or second row.

Alonso made a pass around the outside of Nico Rosberg’s Mercedes using the DRS in the lap 13. Soon after he took the lead as Esteban Gutierrez, of all people, was leading the race when others had gone for their first pit stop. Soon after Alonso passed Rosberg, Vettel too made his move and passed Rosberg in turn 7. After that it was a time for Fernando Alonso to consolidate. On the other hand after this it was a downhill drive for Rosberg. Fortunately he finished in points unlike his team mate Lewis Hamilton who started at 2nd position but was one lap down and finished outside points at 12th. An eminently forgettable day indeed for him fortunately he finished in 6th.

Kimi Raikkonen was on another strategy and used 3 stops. He pitted for his third and final stop in lap 46 and was immediately lapping close to a second faster than Alonso and Massa in each sector of the race. Alonso and Massa soon pitted for their final tyre changes and Alonso reeled off a series of fast laps. It then became clear that it would be difficult for Kimi Raikkonen to beat Alonso. So both of them settled into a rhythm and Fernando Alonso won his home Grand Prix in Spain. Kimi finished second.

Felipe Massa of Ferrari finished third. World champion Sebastian Vettel finished 4th ahead of his team mate Mark Webber in 5th. Pole sitter Nico Rosberg was harassed by Paul di Resta, but surprisingly despite being within a second, di Resta could not overtake Nico Rosberg and finished on 7th. At least Force India would be happy of di Resta’s performance as Adrian Sutil finished in 13th.

Jenson Button of McLaren who started down in 14th finished at 8th infront of his teammate Sergio Perez in 9th. Daniel Ricciardo of Toro Rosso albeit down by one lap finished in 10th just ahead of Esteban Gutierrez of Sauber to take the 10th and last point.

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes finished 12th – a ten place drop from his starting position of second. Clearly Mercedes is trying for one lap pace to hog the limelight at the cost of race pace. So Ross Brawn is somehow able to impress his bosses and keep his job. Wily old fox that he is!

It was unfortunate for Nico Hulkenberg of Sauber as he was having a strong race. However an unsafe release in the pits resulted in a collision and the subsequent 10 second stop and go penalty ruined his race.

Final Standings in Spanish Grand Prix

1. Fernando Alonso               Ferrari
2. Kimi Raikkonen                 Lotus
3. Felipe Massa                      Ferrari
4. Sebastian Vettel                Red Bull
5. Mark Weber                      Red Bull
6. Nico Rosberg                      Mercedes
7. Paul di Resta                      Force India
8. Jenson Button                    McLaren
9. Sergio Perez                       McLaren
10. Daniel Ricciardo              Toro Rosso
11. Esteban Gutierrez           Sauber
12. Lewis Hamilton               Mercedes
13. Adrian Sutil                     Force India
14. Pastor Maldonado          Williams
15. Nico Hulkenberg             Sauber
16. Valeri Bottas                    Williams
17. Charles Pic                       Caterham
18. Jules Bianchi                    Marussia
19. Max Chilton                     Marussia

Retirements in Spanish Grand Prix

Jean-Eric Vergne                   Toro Rosso
G. van der Garde                   Caterham
Romain Grosjean                   Lotus

No comments: