Sunday, April 21, 2013

Vettel wins Bahrain Grand Prix

Vettel wins Bahrain Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg started the race in pole position, however on Lap 3 Sebastian Vettel overtook him. On lap 5 Alonso also overtook him. But Alonso had to pit soon after in lap 7 as his DRS wing malfunctioned. He changed over to hard tyres. He was among the first to pit due to the DRS problem. However his DRS wing opened again and he had to pit again in lap 9. With no DRS, Alonso’s race may be over. With this there was virtually no competitor for Vettel as he raced on. Later Kimi Raikkonen came in and tried to compete, however, the gap was more than 9 seconds and Raikkonen with older tires decided to back off. Vettel easily kept his lead and won the Bahrain 2013 F1 Grand Prix.

Romain Grosjean hunted down Paul di Resta of Force India to take the third position. Nevertheless the fourth position was also a good news for Paul di Resta whose team mate Adrian Sutil finished out of points in 13th position.

Lewis Hamilton who had started at 9th position due to the 5 place gearbox change penalty had a quiet race, and then towards the end did a bit of neck to neck racing to overtake Mark Webber and finish in 5th position. Surprisingly at the last lap Sergio Perez of McLaren sneaked in and overtook Webber for 6th position. It would be immensely satisfying for Perez as this is the first race he finished ahead of his illustrious team mate Jenson Button who finished in 10th position.

Fernando Alonso who lost the DRS and had to pit one more time, finished at 8th position. It was a very good race without the DRS wing.

Nico Rosberg who had started in pole could only finish in 9th position.

Pastor Maldonado of Williams finished in 11 position and out of points. Nico Hulkenberg of Sauber was 12th. Adrian Sutil of Force India at 13th, Valeri Bottas of Williams at 14th.

Alonso’s team mate Felipe Massa had a contact with Sutil and also had a contact with Webber and finished the race out of points in 15th position.

Daniel Ricciardo of Toro Rosso finished one lap down at 16th, followed by Charles Pic on 17th, Esteban Gutierrez of Sauber on 18th, Jules Bianchi of Marussia on 19th, Max Chilton on 20th and G. Van der Garde on 21st. Jean-Eric Vergne of Toro Rosso was the only retirement in the race.

Final Standings in Bahrain F1 Grand Prix

1. Sebastian Vettel RedBull
2. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus
3. Romain Grosjean Lotus
4. Paul di Resta Force India
5. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
6. Sergio Perez McLaren
7. Mark Webber RedBull
8. Fernando Alonso Ferrari
9. Nico Rosberg Mercedes
10. Jenson Button McLaren
11. Pastor Maldonado Williams
12. Nico Hulkenberg Sauber
13. Adrian Sutil Force India
14. Valeri Bottas Williams
15. Felipe Massa Ferrari
16. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso
17. Charles Pic Caterham
18. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber
19. Jules Bianchi Marussia
20. Max Chilton Marussia
21. Giedo van der Garde Caterham

Retirements in 2013 Bahrain F1 Grand Prix

Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso

No comments: