Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Alonso wins Chinese Grand Prix 2013

Alonso wins Chinese Grand Prix 2013

Fernando Alonso of Ferrari overtook pole sitter Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes in the 5th lap and registered the first win for himself in the 2013 season.

Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus nursed a damaged front wing to come second. Hamilton took the third position by barely managing to thwart a charging Sebastian Vettel of Redbull. The difference between Hamilton and Vettel was only 0.2 seconds. Kimi Rakkonen was a further 2.1 seconds ahead of Hamilton.

Jenson Button of McLaren would have considered himself to be fortunate as he scored a fifth position ahead of Felipe Massa of Ferarri. The retirements of Nico Rosberg of Mercedes in 21st lap and Mark Webber of RedBull in 15th lap obviously helping the struggling Mclaren. Jenson Button would obviously having more prayers in his lips for some of his competitors not to finish the next race, as it is not known as to how much time McLaren will take to improve their car.

Daniel Ricciardo of Toro Rosso finished a creditable seventh. Paul di Resta of Force India was done in by his own team mate Sutil. However, he managed to recover and finish 8th. His team mate Sutil perhaps had to face his own karma as Esteban Gutierrez of Sabuer ran into the back of Sutil and both of them retired. Gutierrez earned a five places grid penalty for the next race at Baharin.

It is to be seen if Force India can manage their warring drivers and ensure that there is no repeat collision between the two.

Romain Grosjean of Lotus finished at 9th. Last year he was at his erratic best, served a one race ban, however he was fast as well. This year, he has not collided with anyone in the first three races, but there has been a huge gap between Kimi and Romain. If this continues, it will be seen whether Eric Boulier will still retain him next year.

I wish Michael Schumacher were driving in place of Romain Grosjean and Lotus would have been steadily beating the other top teams.

Nico Hulkenberg who moved from Force India to Sauber finished at 10th place. Wonder if he is happy as the Sauber this year has been a far cry from the previous years car.

Sergio Perez who moved from Sauber to McLaren finished at 11th. Jean-Eric Vergne of Toro Rosso finished in 12th ahead of the two Williams cars of Valeri Bottas and Pastor Maldonado.

Jules Bianchi of Marussia was ahead of the Caterham of Charles Pic for 15th and 16th positions and Max Chilton of Marussia finished at 17th ahead of Giedo Van der Garde of Caterham.

Worried by the poor showing of his drivers Tony Fernandes of Caterham brought back Heikki Kovalainen as a reserve driver and he will drive in the FP1 in the next two races to give his feedback. Qing Hua Ma who is the reserve driver with Caterham drove in the First Practice. It is not known how many millions he has brought to the Caterham team to allow him some track time in the car. Last year he was with the HRT team as reserve driver and had driven in the First Practice in several races including the Chinese Grand Prix. Caterham seems to be in deep trouble financially and unless they beat Marussia, they will also lose millions that comes as a bonus for the 10th position.

Final Standings in the drivers championship after Chinese Grand Prix 2013

1. Sebastian Vettel Redbull 52 points
2. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus  49 points
3. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 43 points
4. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 40 points
5. Felipe Massa Ferrari 30 points
6. Mark Webber Redbull 26 points
7. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 12 points
8. Jenson Button McLaren 12 points
9. Romain Grosjean Lotus 11 points
10. Paul di Resta Force India 8 points
11. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 6 points
12. Adrian Sutil Force India 6 points
13. Nico Hulkenberg Sauber 5 points
14. Sergio Perez McLaren 2 points
15. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1 point
16. Valeri Bottas Williams 0 points (Best place finish 11th)
17. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 0 points (Best place finish 12th)
18. Jules Bianchi Marussia 0 points
19. Charles Pic Caterham 0 points
20. Pastor Maldonado Williams 0 points
21. Giedo Van der Garde Caterham 0 points
22. Max Chilton Marussia 0 points

No comments: