Saturday, September 8, 2012

Lewis Hamilton in Pole in Italian Grand Prix Qualifying

2012 Italian Grand Prix Qualifying | Formula One

Lewis Hamilton scores pole position in the 2012 Italian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton lead his teammate Jenson Button to lock out the front row in the 2012 Italian grand Prix qualifying. In a closely fought qualifying, 0.5 seconds separated the top 5 drivers. Out of this the top four were only separated by 0.3 seconds.

The 2012 Italian Grand Prix is expected to be a bit different as the “bulldozer Grosjean” has been banned for this race and in his place comes in Lotus reserve driver Gerome d’ Ambrosio. This would be his first race. And expectedly he qualified at 16th vis-à-vis the 8th position of his team mate Kimi Raikkonen.
However, the major surprise came from the Ferrari drivers. Felipe Massa who is widely expected to lose his drive in Ferrari at the end of the season scored a P3 where as his teammate and world championship leader Fernando Alonso could only score the 10th position.

Paul di Resta, scored the 4th position with a phenomenal time of 1:24.204. Michael Schumacher came 5th at 1:24.540. He was followed by Sebastian Vettel at 1:24.802. Nico Rosberg who had a very poor outing in the previous race came in 7th with a time of 1:24.833. Kobayashi came in 9th at 1:25.109.

At the back of the grid, Narain Karthikeyan was very happy as he could beat his team mate Pedro de la Rosa 0.188 seconds.

2012 Italian Grand Prix Qualifying 

1.     Lewis Hamilton               McLaren       1:24.010
2.     Jenson Button                  McLaren       1:24.133
3.     Felipe Massa                   Ferrari           1:24.247
4.     Paul di Resta                   Force India    1:24.304
5.     Michael Schumacher      Mercedes       1:24.540
6.     Sebastian Vettel              Red Bull        1:24.802
7.     Nico Rosberg                  Mercedes       1:24.802
8.     Kimi Raikkonen             Lotus              1:24.855
9.     Kamui Kobayashi           Sauber            1:24.109
10. Fernando Alonso            Ferrari            1:25.678
11. Mark Webber                 Red Bull         1:24.809
12. Pastor Maldonado          Williams        1:24.820
13. Sergio Perez                   Sauber            1:24.901
14. Bruno Senna                   Williams        1:25.042
15. Daniel Ricciardo            Toro Rosso     1:25.312
16. Jerom d’Ambrosio         Lotus              1:25.408
17. Jean-Eric Vergne           Toro Rosso     1:25.441
18. Heikki Kovalainen         Caterham       1.26.382
19. Vitaly Petrov                  Caterham       1:26.887
20. Timo Glock                    Marussia        1:27.039
21. Charles Pic                     Marussia        1:27.073
22. Narain Karthikeyan        HRT               1:27.441
23. Pedro de la Rosa            HRT                1:27.629
24. Nico Hulkenberg            Force India     -

This grand prix is going to be interesting as the championship leader Fernando Alonso is starting in 10th position and his competitors are ahead of him. Lets see how the race unfolds tomorrow. Out of the top five qualifiers three are using mercedes engines. Will Michael Schumacher win this Grand Prix. Or will Lewis Hamilton with this race after suffering many mishaps in the previous races and bring his title efforts back on track?

No comments: