Monday, July 9, 2012

Mark Webber 2nd Double winner of the 2012 season

Mark Webber became the 2nd double grand prix winner of the 2012 season after Alonso when he won the British Grand Prix 2012. This race also started with 23 cars, when Vitaly Petrov's car died during the formation lap.

Fernando Alonso may have started on the pole, but it was Mark Webber of Red Bull who had the last laugh when he overtook Alonso using hard tyres towards the end of the race. Alonso had ran away from the other drivers, however, his car didn't have the pace in the option tyres which he used in the last stint. This led to Webber overtaking him in the dying minutes.

Sebastian Vettel finished P3. Felipe Massa who started at P5 gained a place to end at P4. Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean were P5 and P6 respectively. Romain Grosjean continued to create an impression of a bull running amok when he hit Paul di Resta of force India.

Michael Schumacher had one of his trademark great starts and was at the tail of Felipe Massa's car ready to overtake him. However, Vettel overtook him during the pit stops. In the changing weather conditions, Schumacher's car faded and he ended at P7. Nico Rosberg had a P17.

Pastor Maldonado incurred a fine of 10,000 euros due to his collision with Sergio Perez and ended at P16. Sergio Perez had to retire due to the collision with Maldonado. Bruno Senna ended in a points scoring position at P9.

Hamilton was P8 and Button at P10. It was good that Button could overtake other drivers and ended in a points coring position.

India's Narain Karthikeyan finished at P21 behind his team mate Pedro de La Rosa of HRT. 


Saru Singhal said...

This post reminded me of good old days when I used to keep track of F1. Thanks for this post...:)

Panchali said...


So you are also a grand prix buff...great!! I just checked your Indiawild going to be an ardent follower of that page.