Sunday, July 22, 2012

Alonso wins from pole in German Grand Prix 2012

Alonso wins from Pole in German Grand Prix 2102

In a close race, Alonso kept his composure and won despite being challenged at one point by Jenson Button.

In the opening lap, Sebastian Vettel was challenged by Michael Schumacher. However, Alonso and Vettel quickly pulled away and Schumacher appeared to be driving a lone race at No. 3 till Jenson Button appeared in the scene and overtook him. Michael Schumacher used a three stop strategy and finished at 7th position. He posted the fastest lap times at the end after changing into soft tires, however he despite being on the tail of Sergio Perez finished at No. 3.

Sebastian Vettel controversially overtook Jenson Button "off the race track". McLaren team was heard on the radio saying "FIA is away". However, Vettel's overtaking is being investigated by FIA and the result of the investigation will be known later.

India's Narain Karthikeyan finished 23rd. Lewis Hamilton of McLaren etired. With Alonso winning the German Grand Prix, he retains the lead in the drivers championship.

Position Name Team
1 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
2 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
3 Jenson Button McLaren
4 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus
5 Kamui Kobayashi sauber
6 Sergio Perez Sauber
7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes
8 Mark Webber Red Bull
9 Nico Hulkenberg Force India
10 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
11 Paul di Resta Force India
12 Felipe Massa Ferrari
13 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso
14 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
15 Pastor Maldonado Williams
16 Vitaly Petrov Caterham
17 Bruno Senna Williams
18 Romain Grosjean Lotus
19 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham
20 Charles Pic Marussia
21 Pedro de la Rosa HRT
22 Timo Glock Marussia
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT
RET  Lewis Hamilton

No comments: