Saturday, June 9, 2012

Sebastian Vettel scores pole in Canadian Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettels scores pole in Canadian Grand Prix Qualifying

Ahead of the Qualifying, the hub caps of RedBull cars were deemed to be illegal however, that didn't prevent him from scoring the pole position with a 1:13.784. He was the only one to go below 1:14 seconds. Giving him company in the first row was Lewis Hamilton of McLaren at 1:14.087

Michael Schumacher was driving fast but something happened in the second sector where he was seen raising his left hand and scored a P9 position.

Alonso and Webber will start in the second row in the grid followed by Nico Rosberg and Felipe Massa. Romain Grosjean and Paul di Resta will start in the 4th row.

The surprise performance in the Q1 in qualifying came from Pedro de La Rosa of HRT. He was widely believed to be trounced by Narain Karthikeyan. However, Pedro was 1:17.492 out qualifying Timo Glock and Charles Pic of Marussia as well as his team mate Narain Karthikeyan who came 24th with a time of 1:18.330 ie. 0.838 seconds slower. Interestingly the HRT cars recorded a very fast straight line times.

Maldonado had scored the fastest time in the sector 1 while trying to make into the Q3, but he pushed too hard and banged his car and it was all over for him. He scored 1:15.231 and had to settle for 17th position. Bruno Senna scored a 1:15.170. The extremely erratic Romain Grosjean who has been banging wheels with other drives this season has proved to be a good qualifier. He scored a seventh fastest time to qualify into the Q3. However, his Lotus team mate and former Formula One world champion Kimi Raikkonen had to settle for P12  with a time of 1:14.734

Qualifying Times and Grid Position:

Sl. Driver Team Time Laps
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull  1:13.784 16 laps
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren  1:14.087 22 laps
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari  1:14.151 23 laps
4 Mark Webber Red Bull  1:14.346 19 laps
5 Nico Rosberg Mercedes  1:14.411 25 laps
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari  1:14.465 24 laps
7 Romain Grosjean Lotus  1:14.645 28 laps
8 Paul di Resta Force India  1:14.705 22 laps
9 Michael Schumacher Mercedes  1:14.812 18 laps
10 Jenson Button McLaren  1:15.182 24 laps
11 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber  1:14.688 21 laps
12 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus  1:14.734 22 laps
13 Nico Hulkenberg Force India  1:14.748 18 laps
14 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso  1:15.078 21 laps
15 Sergio Perez Sauber  1:15.156 21 laps
16 Bruno Senna Williams   1:15.170 20 laps
17 Pastor Maldonado Williams   1:15.231 21 laps
18 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham  1:16.263 12 laps
19 Vitaly Petrov Caterham  1:16.482 10 laps
20 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso  1:16.602 12 laps
21 Pedro de la Rosa HRT  1:17.492 8 laps
22 Timo Glock Marussia  1:17.901 10 laps
23 Charles Pic Marussia  1:18.255 9 laps
24 Narain Karthikeyan HRT  1:18.330 9 laps
Q1 107% Time  1:19.887

No comments: