Sunday, May 13, 2012

Maldonado wins Spanish Grand Prix

Pastor Maldonado of Williams wins his maiden race in the Spanish Grand Prix. He is the 5th winner in as many races this season. Fernando Alonso came second with 3.1 seconds behind and Kimi Raikkonen a further 0.6 seconds adrift. Grosjean, Kobayashi, Vettel, Rosberg, Hamilton, Button and Hulkenberg completed the top 10 and the point scoring positions.

There were many casualties in the race. On lap 12 Michael Schumacher ploughed into the back of Bruno Senna when Senna missed the braking point inviting the ire of Schumacher who referred Senna as an idiot over a radio message. A fuming Michael Schumacher told Sky Sports F1 HD "I want the Stewards to clarify what happened. He moved to the right, but he shouldn't move back in the braking phase to the left that sharply. I am just behind him and I don't know how sharply he is going to move. So it was all very dangerous. We had a chance of good points today so it is doubly frustrating. I have to say I don't know what he was trying to prove but in Brazil last year he was driving into my car and today he was doing funny things."

Just before this incident Bruno Senna who is having a horrible weekend had come in contact with Grosjean. Schumacher immediately stopped and Senna stopped a further down. Narain Karthikeyan stopped at 22nd lap.

Vettel, Massa and de la Rosa were the only drivers having 4 pit stops. Hamilton was the only driver to be on a two stop strategy. Others were on a three stop strategy.

Grid Position Driver Team Points
1 Pastor Maldonado Williams  25
2 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 18
3 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 15
4 Romain Grosjean Lotus 12
5 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 10
6 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 8
7 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 6
8 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 4
9 Jenson Button McLaren 2
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1
11 Mark Webber Red Bull
12 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
13 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso
14 Paul de Resta Force India
15 Felipe Massa Ferrari
16 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham
17 Vitaly Petrov Caterham
18 Timo Glock Marussia
19 Pedro de la Rosa HRT
Sergio Perez Sauber
Charles Pic Marussia
Narain Karthikeyan HRT
Bruno Senna Williams 
Michael Schumacher Mercedes

No comments: