Sunday, April 22, 2012

Vettel wins from Pole in Bahrain Grand Prix 2012

Vettel who had last won in the Indian Grand Prix in 2011 won the Bahrain Grand Prix 2012 after he could just manage to ward off the charging Kimi Raikkonen. Vettel scored the fastest lap time of the race on Lap 41 which was timed at 1:36:379.

With this win Vettel is once again leading the championship.

There was plenty of drama in the race with pit lane gaffes which impacted Hamilton and Raikkonen, tire wear and heat.

Daniel Ricciardo who had got a very good qualifying and was 6th on the grid started badly and was 17th in the opening lap. Nico Rosberg too had a bad start and dropped down from 6th to 9th in the opening lap. Jenson Button, Bruno Senna, Pastor Maldonado and Charles Pic retired.

Michael Schumacher who started from 22nd position came in 10th position and scored the last point. Narain Karthikeyan who made 4 pit stops was just 0.5 seconds behind his team mate Pedro de La Rosa who was on a 3 stop strategy. The stewards will look into an incident between Hamilton and Rosberg after the race. In case there are any penalties, we will bring that information in a later report.

Race Results:
1. Sebastian Vettel Redbull Winner   Gap
2. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus                 +3.3 seconds
3. Romain Grosjean Lotus                +10.1 seconds
4. Mark Webber Redbull                 +38.7 seconds
5. Nico Rosberg Mercedes              +55.4 seconds
6. Paul di Resta Force India             +57.5 seconds
7. Fernando Alonso Ferrari              +57.8. seconds
8. Lewis Hamilton McLaren             +58.9 seconds
9. Felipe Massa Ferrari                    +64.9 seconds
10. Michael Schumacher Mercedes  +71.4 seconds
11. Sergio Perez Sauber                   +72.7 seconds
12. Nico Hulkenberg Force India      +76.5 seconds
13. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber            +90.3 seconds
14. Jean Vergne Toro Rosso             +93.7 seconds
15. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso       +1Lap
16. Vitaly Petrov Caterham               +1Lap
17. Heikki Kovalainen Caterham       +1Lap
18. Jenson Button McLaren               +2L (Retired)
19. Timo Glock Marussia                  +2L
20. Pedro de La Rosa HRT               +2L
21. Narain Karthikeyan HRT             +2L
22. Bruno Senna Williams                  +3L (Retired)

No comments: